International Award Ceremony 2014 participants ©

Copyright British Council Wales

The International School Award is a badge of honour for schools that do outstanding work in international education, such as through links with partner schools overseas. Fostering an international dimension in the curriculum is at the heart of the British Council’s work with schools, so that young people gain the cultural understanding and skills they need to live and work as global citizens.

The award is available in Wales and other countries worldwide such as Greece, Nigeria, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka.  There are three levels of the International School Award: Foundation, Intermediate and Accreditation. The level your school is at will depend on how much international work you have already done - find out more

The International School Award encourages and supports schools to develop:

  • An international ethos embedded throughout the school
  • Pupils within the school impacted by and involved in international work
  • Collaborative curriculum-based work with a number of international partner schools
  • Curriculum-based work across a range of subjects
  • Year-round international activity
  • Involvement of the wider community
  • A greater appreciation of diversity, other countries and cultures

International School Award 2018

Foundation by default

  • Pontarddulais Comprehensive School, Pontarddulais
  • Ysgol Gymraeg Ystalyfera-Bro Dur, Castell Nedd Port Talbot


  • Crwys Primary School, Swansea
  • Sketty Primary School, Swansea
  • St Joseph's Cathedral Primary School, Swansea
  • St. Mary's Catholic Primary School, Flint
  • Ysgol Emmanuel, Rhyl
  • Ysgol Llywelyn, Rhyl
  • Ysgol Pum Heol, Llanelli

Accreditation and Reaccreditation

  • Herbert Thompson Primary, Cardiff
  • Wyedean School and 6th Form Centre, Chepstow
  • Ysgol Llywelyn, Rhyl
  • Ysgol y Dderwen, Caerfyrddin
  • Ysgol Gynradd Gymraeg Tirdeunaw, Swansea

International School Award 2017

 Welsh schools awarded accreditation

  • Alun School, Flintshire
  • Beaufort Hill Primary School, Blaenau Gwent
  • Bishop Childs C.I.W. Primary School, Cardiff
  • Brynhyfryd Primary School, Swansea
  • Coryton Primary School, Cardiff
  • Llandaff City C.I.W Primary School, Cardiff
  • Maelor School, Wrexham
  • Maesgwyn Special School, Rhondda Cynon Taff
  • Ysgol Emrys Ap Iwan, Conwy
  • Ysgol Esgob Morgan, Denbighshire
  • Ysgol y Dderwen, Carmarthenshire