The members come from a variety of professional backgrounds.

Committee members

Michelle Carwardine-Palmer

Michelle Carwardine-Palmer

Managing Director, National Theatre Wales

Michelle is the managing director of National Theatre Wales (NTW). Prior to joining NTW she was the joint chief executive of the Salisbury Playhouse and has been working within theatre management for more than 20 years. She currently sits on the board for UK Theatre, is part of the What Next? movement, sits on the UK Parents in Performing Arts and Welsh National Companies consortiums and is an RSA Fellow. She graduated from University of Wales Trinity St Davids in Theatre and English.


Professor Laura McAllister

Professor of practice in public policy and the governance of Wales, Wales Governance Centre, Cardiff University

Laura McAllister is Professor of practice in public policy and the governance of Wales at Cardiff University. She was a member of the Richard Commission on the Powers and Electoral Arrangements for National Assembly for Wales that reported in March 2004. She has worked as a political analyst for BBC Wales and is a leading commentator on Welsh and British elections. A former Wales football international and national team captain, Laura is a board member of UK Sport and the Welsh Football Trust. 

Rhiannon Wyn Hughes

Rhiannon Wyn Hughes MBE FRSA

Festival Director, Cidwm Cymru/ Wicked Wales

Rhiannon has spent 19 years creating opportunities for young people through arts and film festivals. She's a founding member of  Wicked Wales, an international youth film festival. In 2017 she joined a team of volunteers to launch Wicked Cinema a community run mobile cinema. She is a former vice chair of Arts Council Wales, Ffilm Cymru Wales, trustee of National Museums Wales, chair of the Scala Cinema Trust and former Leader of Denbighshire County Council. She recently joined the Hijinx Board.