man on stage speaking at lectern holding award, with two men standing behind him
Band leader Davey Newington accepts Boy Azooga's 2018 Welsh Music Prize ©

Jen Abell @ffotojenic

We're excited to be supporting the Welsh Music Prize this year. The prize is awarded for music made in Wales or by Welsh people around the world, the winner is chosen by a panel of industry experts. 

The prize, now in its eighth year, continues to champion diversity in Welsh music, and frequently highlights Welsh language music. 

The Welsh Music Prize is a major asset for the Welsh music scene, and gives Welsh musicians a platform that helps to secure performances on a global scale, and reach new audiences worldwide.

The prize’s founders hope that its long list may introduce listeners outside Wales to less familiar acts showcasing the breadth of the country’s musical output.

The Welsh music prize was founded in 2011 by BBC Radio 1 DJ Huw Stephens and promoter and activist John Rostron. Previous winners include Gruff Rhys (2011), Future of the Left (2012), Georgia Ruth (2013), Joanna Gruesome(2014), Gwenno (2015), Meilyr Jones (2016) and the Gentle Good (2017). This year the ceremony will include a second prize, the Welsh music inspiration award, or Gwobr Ysbrydoliaeth Gerddoriaeth Gymreig.

Many of these have gone on to achieve subsequent success due to the prize’s industry recognition, not only in Wales but on a UK and international platform.

BBC Radio 1 DJ  Huw Stephens, who co-founded the Welsh Music Prize said: “It’s another eclectic and electrifying nominations list that the jurors have put forward.” 

“These albums have found audiences worldwide, the musicians are incredible talented ambassadors for Wales and this year’s Welsh Music Prize proves that creativity in music from Wales is at an all-time high.”

 The 12 shortlisted albums for 2018 are… 

  1. Alex Dingley ‘Beat the Babble’
  2. Astroid Boys ‘Broke’
  3. Boy Azooga ‘1,2, Kung Fu’
  4. Bryde ‘Like an Island’
  5. Eugene Capper and Rhodri Brooks ‘Pontvane’
  6. Catrin Finch and Seckou Keita ‘SOAR’
  7. Gwenno ‘Le Kov’
  8. Gruff Rhys ‘Babelsberg’
  9. Manic Street Preachers ‘Resistance Is Futile’
  10. MELLT ‘Mae’n Hawdd Pan Ti’n Ifanc’
  11. Seazoo ‘Trunks’
  12. Toby Hay ‘The Longest Day’

Congratulations to the winner of the Welsh Music Prize 2018: Boy Azooga for their album '1,2, Kung Fu'.

External links